Keerai Poriyal

Greens Subzi

Keerai Poriyal

Easy, simple, and healthy dish!
When I was young, my mom found it very difficult to feed me. My mom cooks very well, but I would always want to eat pulao, biriyani, and rotis. I would not have sambar, kootu or any such healthy dishes.
 
When my mom makes this dish, I would hug and thank her a lot because I just love this dish so much. You can make this poriyal using any greens. My mom makes this dish often for me because this would be the only way she could feed me greens. Now I think how much trouble I had given her when it comes to food….(sigh!)
 
Now, it’s high time for me to make this favorite dish of mine to my family. My family also loves this dish so much. Try it out and I hope you would also like it…
 
 
Ingredients

Chopped spinach/Any greens – 1 bunch

Chopped onion – 1 no.

Red chillies – 2 to 5 nos.

Chopped garlic – 7 to 8 pods

Mustard seeds (kadugu) – 1/2 teaspoon

Salt – as desired

Oil – as desired

Preparation

1. Heat a frying pan. and add 1 teaspoon oil. When the oil is hot, add mustard seeds. When mustard seeds pop out, add red chillies. Then, add garlic and fry for 2 minutes.

2. Now, add onion and saute till it becomes light brown. Now, add spinach and salt. Fry for 4-5 minutes.

Now, Keerai Poriyal is ready!!!

Serve. Accompaniment for Rice items(KUZHAMBU, SAMBAR & RASAM)

Leave a Reply

