Chicken Pakora | Chicken Pakoda Recipe

Chicken Pakoda
My paternal grandfather and my dad love Pakodas. Whenever we go to my grandparents house, my grandfather will ask my grandmother to make Pakodas for us. If not, he will buy Onion Pakoda for us when he returns home. He would simply taste each and every pakoda with so much joy.

My mom makes pakorda every other sunday for us. She would make a variety of pakoda like potato, ladies finger, brinjal, plantain, onion etc. After my marriage, she told me that she tried Chicken Pakoda and it turned out very good. She said it repeatedly for two days and asked me to try at home. I then got the recipe from her. I had a bunch of mint leaves in the refrigerator. I wanted to finish it off and that is when I thought I’ll make this tasty Chicken Pakoda. It came out well. My neighbor, who is an Indian friend, came and asked what was I making as she smelled a very good aroma around my house. When I said Chicken Pakora, she wanted to taste some. She loved it so much and she made the Pakoras the very next day and her family loved it. My friend urged me to post the recipe here so here am I with the Chicken Pakora Recipe…I should only thank Late Chef Jacob for sharing a yummy recipe.


Preparation Time. 10 minutes
Cook Time. 20 minutes
Recipe Category. Snack
Recipe Cuisine. Indian
Recipe Source. Chef Jacob
Serves. 3

Ingredients

Chicken (boneless) – 1/4 kg
Besan Flour – 100gm
Corn Flour or Rice Flour – 3 teaspoon
Chilli Powder – 1 teaspoon
Onion (chopped) – 1 cup
Green Chillies (chopped) – 1/4 cup (increase or decrease the quantity as per your preference)
Ginger (finely chopped) – 1 tablespoon
Coriander Leaves (finely chopped) – 1/2 cup
Mint Leaves (finely chopped) – little more than 1/4 cup
Turmeric Powder – 1/2 teaspoon
Red Color Powder – a pinch
Salt – as desired
Oil – 150 gm

Note. The ingredients shown will vary with the original quantity.

Preparation

1. Boil the chicken and then crumble it into small pieces. Reserve the chicken stock.

2. In a mixing bowl, add corn flour or rice flour, chilli powder, besan flour, turmeric powder, and a pinch of red food color. Then add crumbled chicken, coriander leaves, salt, and mint leaves.

3. Now add onion, green chillies, and ginger. Mix well. Now just sprinkle the reserved chicken stock and combine well. Make sure you do not add more chicken stock and make the batter soggy.
4. Cover the pakoda batter and leave it aside for about 15 minutes. Meantime, heat oil in a wide bottomed pan. To check if the oil is hot, add a very tiny piece into the hot oil. If it comes up soon, then the oil is ready for deep frying. When the oil is medium hot, using a teaspoon, drop the batter in the hot oil.

5. When the pakodas turn crispy and golden brown, take them out and drain in a tissue paper to remove excess oil.

Now, the Chicken Pakoda is ready! Serve with Mint Yoghurt Dip or Tomato Ketchup.

You might also like:
Leave a Reply

