Achu Murukku/Rose Cookies Without Eggs

Rose Cookies

I am a person who love sweets and savories. Every weekend, my father buys some snacks and sweets for my brother and me.  One of the snacks woul be Achu Murukku from my favorite bakery. My brother and myself would fight over it. Achu Murukku are of two flavors: with sweet and the other one with lot of spices. I like both but prefer the one with sweet better.

I used to have it a lot during my childhood days. My parents had a tough time to make me eat food, so they were contented as along as I was eating something. After my wedding, I did not find Achu Murukku freshly made or even at stores. Whenever I go to India, my father make sure he gets me some. When I was pregnant with Sanvi, I cannot describe how I longed to eat this Achu Murukku. I could not get it anywhere. I was very badly craving for it. Now I am happy that I know to make Achu Murukku from my mom when she came for my second pregnancy. My mom learned it from my maternal grandma. My grandma makes very good Achu Murukku, Adhirasam, Murukku etc. She passed away three years back. If she was there, then definitely she would have taught me so many traditional recipes. I dedicate this recipe to my grandma who is famour for her Achu Murukku. This version of Achu Murukku does not have egg in it. I will soon post an Achu Murukku which has eggs in it. In the pictures, you will see golden brown Achu Murukku and Green Achu Murukku. The golden brown ones are made with eggs and the green ones are egg-free. I have used green food color because my mother wanted it in green color otherwise I am not very fond of adding food color. I avoid a lot, but my mom loves to play with the colors. Adding green food color is optional. Here comes the recipe of Achu Murukku without eggs…

Rose Cookies


Preparation Time
. 10 minutes
Cook Time. 20 minutes
Recipe Category. Snack
Recipe Cuisine. Indian
Yield. 3 cups

To make Achu Murukku, you need a special mould which has a long handle and at the bottom of the handle, you will find a metal sheet shaped like a flower. When you cook the Achu Murukku, you can hold the long handle and immerse the other end (flower end) into the batter and onto the hot oil. Achu Murukku mould does not come with the regular murukku mould. You have to buy it separately.

Ingredients

Rice Flour – 1 cup
All Purpose Flour/Maida – 1/4 cup
Powdered Sugar – 1/2 cup
Cumin Seeds – 1/2 teaspoon
Coconut Milk (Thick) – 1 cup
Green Food Color – a pinch (optional)
Salt – a pinch
Oil – to deep fry

Note. The ingredients shown will vary with the original quantity.

Rose Cookies

 

Preparation

1. In a mixing bowl, add rice flour, all purpose flour, sugar, salt, cumin seeds and combine well. Then add the thick coconut milk. Stir well.

Rose Cookies

2.  The consistency of the batter should be like dosa batter consistency. The batter should not be either too thin or too thick. Now add a pinch of green food color and stir well.

Rose Cookies

3. Meantime, heat oil for deep frying the Achu Murukku. Immerse the Achu Murukku mould in the hot oil and leave it there for about 5 minutes. Then take the mould out and immerse the mould quickly into the batter just halfway through (i.e) three fourth into the batter. Do not immerse the mould completely into the batter. If you immerse halfway through, it is enough. Due to the heat in the mould, the batter will stick well to the mould.

Rose Cookies

 

 

Video Link: How To Fry Achu Murukku?

4. Then immerse the mould  into the hot oil. Just leave the mould in the hot oil for about 30 seconds, the batter will get cooked and will come out the mould by itself. If the batter does not leave the mould then shake the mould for few seconds. You may use a fork to lift the batter on all sides.

Rose Cookies

5. Once the batter leaves the mould and gets fried, again immerse the mould on to the hot oil till you fry another batch of murukku. Once the Achu Murukku becomes golden in color and crispy, then take it out and drain it on a tissue paper.

Rose Cookies

Now, Achu Murukku is ready! Store it in an airtight container.

Rose Cookies

 Notes.

  • The batter should neither be too thin or thick. The consistency of the batter should be like Dosa Batter.
  • Do not immerse the mould completely into the batter. If you immerse the mould 3/4th, it is more than enough.
  • If the batter is thin, then it would not come out of the mould. It will take a lot of time.
  • If the batter is thick, then you will not get crispy murukku.
  • If you have bought a new mould, then wash the mould well and wipe it well. In order to temper the mould, keep it immersed in the oil for a day and then again wash and dry it. Again, keep the mould immersed again in the hot oil. Do it repeatedly for about 3 days.

Rose Cookies

Leave a Reply

