Banana Fritters | Easy Banana Fritters Recipe

Banana Fritters

Banana Fritters is my mom’s favorite dish. She calls it by a different name. I request her to make this dish for me during the rainy season. She would make so much that each of us will have about 15 fritters. It taste great on the next day too. When I grew up, I eat this dish along with a cup of tea. We buy bananas every week and sometimes, the bananas would ripen quickly.

Sometimes, I would be stuck as I would not know what to do with the ripen bananas. Whenever I have ripen bananas, I make Banana Chappthi, Banana Appam, Banana Muffin and Banana Fritters. This recipe can be made in a jiffy. When I was pregnant the second time, I would make this recipe and eat it right away. I had a strong craving for this dish. It is a very simple and easy recipe. If you have guest at home, with just one banana you can make about 7 to 8 fritters. Try it out and I am sure you like it.

 

Preparation Time: 10 minutes
Cooking Time: 10 minutes
Makes: 15 nos.
Recipe Category: Sweet
Recipe Cuisine: Indian


Ingredients

Self-rising flour (Maida) – 1 cup
Sugar – 2 tablespoon
Large bananas – 2 nos.
Grated coconut – 1/2 cup
Baking powder – 2 teaspoons
Salt – a pinch
Oil – for deep frying

Note. The ingredients shown will vary with the original quantity.


Preparation

1. In a large mixing bowl, mix self-raising flour/maida, baking powder, and sugar. Then, add grated coconut, banana, and a pinch of salt. Add sufficient quantity of water to make a medium consistency (neither too thin nor too thick) batter.

2.  Batter should have consistency to mound up in a spoon. Heat oil to deep fry the bananas. The oil should be medium hot. Drop by spoonfuls in small batches.

3.  As banana fritters start becoming brown on one side, turn them over. Once banana fritters turn brown in color, remove and drain them on paper towels.

You can sprinkle powdered sugar on top of the banana fritters just before serving but I love to eat it right away. I cannot wait that long.

 

Now, Banana Fritters are ready! Serve warm.

Serve. With tea or ice cream.

 

Leave a Reply

