Black Chickpeas Sundal | Kondakadalai Sundal | Karuppu Mookadalai Sundal

Kondakadalai Sundal

I make sundal often at home mostly as a tea time snack. With black chickpeas, I make a Black chickpeas curry and sundal. Though I prefer white chickpeas, I still make it often as it is very healthy. I make this sundal once in two weeks. I’ve seen my friends serving this Sundal as an accompaniment to Rice. My mom and mother-in-law make this sundal during festive seasons and we have it along with payasam (Pacha Payir Payasam and Javvarisi Semiya Payasam). You know how I eat this sundal? … picking and eating it one by one. Till date, my hubby asks me how do I have so much patience to eat like this. My hubby finishes it off in 5 minutes, whereas myself, will eat it forever. During my childhood days, I used to eat this sundal at my own style and my brother Vignesh would grab my Sundal and finish it off. He would simply say, “if you eat it slowly, then I have to finish it off.” Then we would start fighting. Whenever I eat this Sundal, I will cherish those nice memories.

Preparation Time. 5 minutes
Soak Time. 8 hours
Cook Time. Less than 20 minutes
Serves. 2
Recipe Category. Main course
Recipe Reference. Maalai Malar

Ingredients

Black chickpeas – 1 cup
Grated coconut – 1 tablespoon
Salt – as desired

To Season

Mustard seeds (kadugu) – 1/2 teaspoon
Curry leaves – 5 to 7 leaves
Asafoetida (perungayam) – a pinch
Red chillies – 2 nos.
Sugar – 1/4 teaspoon
Oil – 1 tablespoon

Note. The ingredients shown will vary with the original quantity.

Preparation

1. Wash and soak black chickpeas in water overnight or for at least 8 hours. Pressure cook black chick peas using a teaspoon of salt and 4 cups of water until a whistle or 10 minutes. The cooked black chick peas should be soft enough but not mushy. Once the pressure is released, drain the water and keep the black chick peas aside.

2. Heat oil in a pan and then add mustard seeds. When mustard seeds splutter, add curry leaves, asafoetida and red chillies. Then add the black chick peas and fry for two minutes. Add little salt (remember you have already added salt while cooking black chick peas, so add salt accordingly).

3. Now simmer the flame and add grated coconut. Stir well and then add sugar at the end. Stir once for the last time. Switch off the flame.

Now, Black Chick Peas Sundal is ready!

You can also try other sundals:
Butter Beans/Mochai Sundal, Green Peas Sundal, Sweet Corn Sundal

Notes.

  • You can skip the coconut but coconut gives a good taste.
  • The pressure cooked water in which the chick peas have boiled can be used for kneading Chappathi.

Leave a Reply

