Cabbage Poriyal | Cabbage Curry Recipe | Cabbage Stir Fry | Easy Cabbage Recipes

Cabbage Poriyal

Usually, I add gram dal while making Cabbage Poriyal, but in this recipe I have used roasted gram dal. Roasted gram dal will be easier to eat and chew when compared to the gram dal. I like both the versions. I have this dish usually with Sambar, Rasam and Curd Rice. Cabbage is very good for diabetics.

My husband loves cabbage and asks me to make cabbage recipes at least twice a week. I try the cabbage recipes with brussel sprouts also. I cut the brussel sprouts similarly like cabbage and follow the same procedure. In my childhood days, when my mom makes Cabbage recipes, I’ll be the first person to silently frown seeing the dish. During initial days of my marriage, I will make Cabbage Koftha, Dry Spiced Cabbage and Cabbage Koftha Curry often. Even when I have guests at home, that will be the first dish that I prepare. Nowadays, I have started liking it mainly because of its health benefits.

 

Preparation Time: 10 minutes
Cook time: 15 minutes
Serves: 2
Recipe Cuisine: Indian
Recipe Category: Side Dish

Ingredients

Finely shredded cabbage – 4 cups
Chopped onion – 1 cup
Roasted gram dal (pottukadalai) – 2 tablespoons
Red chillies (kanja molaga) – 2 nos.
Grated coconut – 2 tablespoons
Coriander leaves – 2 sprigs
Turmeric powder (manjal thool) – 1/2 teaspoon

To Season

Mustard seeds – 1/2 teaspoon
Urad dal (ulutham paruppu) – 1/2 teaspoon
Salt – as desired
Oil – 1 teaspoon

Note. The ingredients shown will vary with the original quantity.

Preparation

1.  Heat oil in a frying pan. Add mustard seeds and let it splutter. Then add the urad dal and fry till it turns light brown. Now add red chillies followed by chopped onion and roasted gram dal (pottukadalai). Fry until onions turn transparent. Then add finely shredded cabbage.


2. Stir well and close the pan using a lid and cook for 10 minutes or until the cabbage gets cooked. Do not add water as cabbage itself will leave water. Cook until the cabbage becomes little dry. Add grated coconut and turmeric powder. Stir well and cook for 5 more minutes. Add salt. Stir well once and finally sprinkle coriander leaves.

Now, Cabbage Stir-Fry is ready!

Serve. With Rice, Kootu, Sambar and Rasam.

You can serve Cabbage Poriyal as an accompaniment with the following dishes:
Cucumber KootuVazhaipoo Kootu (Banana Blossom Curry)Spinach Moong DalSpring Onion Moong DalCucumber Moru KootuMurungakai Poricha KuzhambuApple RasamPoondu Rasam (Garlic Rasam)Capsicum Sambar

Leave a Reply

