Cabbage Soup Recipe | Muttai Koess Soup | Cabbage Recipes

Cabbage Soup

I am happy to say that this was the first soup I learned during my initial days of cooking. What a simple and easy recipe! I could not remember where I learned this dish from, but it is always a hit in my kitchen. This dish will always be in my list when I have guests at home.

This soup just eases out my stress when guests come because it can never go wrong. You can always adjust the taste by increasing or decreasing the quantity of ghee, milk and pepper. Garnishing the soup with spring onions is optional. If I have them, I use it. When you taste the soup, it will be difficult for you to tell that it is made of cabbage. My hubby and I would often ask our guest to find out what soup it is, and they would not able to find out at all. Cabbage lovers, who love making Simple Cabbage Curry, Cabbage Capsicum Curry, and Cabbage Kofta, please try this recipe and you will fall in love with it.

 

Preparation Time: 5 minutes
Cooking Time: 15 minutes
Makes: 3 persons
Recipe Category: Starter

Ingredients

Milk – 2 cups
Cabbage – 2 cups
Black pepper powder (milagu thool) – 1/2 to 1 teaspoon
Salt – as desired
Spring onion (green part) – to garnish (optional)
Ghee – 2 teaspoons

Note. The ingredients shown will vary with the original quantity.

Preparation

1. Heat 2 teaspoons of Ghee in a non-stick pan. Add roughly chopped cabbage, and fry well till the cabbage is cooked and becomes soft.

2. Allow the cooked cabbage to cool down completely. Then grind the cabbage with 1/4 cup of water to a smooth paste. If you still have bits and pieces of cabbage here and there, it is okay.

3. In the same non-stick pan, boil the milk. When the milk starts to boil, add the ground cabbage. Let the milk start to thicken. Then add ground pepper and salt. Once it reaches the soup consistency, then switch off the stove.

Garnish with chopped spring onion leaves.

For more soup recipes, you can refer the following recipes:
Broccoli Soup ,  Celery Diet SoupSweet Corn Vegetable Soup

Now, Cabbage Soup is ready!

Leave a Reply

