Carrot Halwa | Gajar Ka Halwa | Easy Diwali Sweets

Gajar Ka Halwa

A restaurant which is 1 hour from our house makes very good Carrot Halwa. Whenever I go there, the first thing I would taste is Carrot Halwa. The restaurant serves buffet, so I will have nearly 2 cups of Carrot Halwa.

Only then I will try other food. Sometimes, I would take it with Vanilla Icecream. Another close friend of mine makes Carrot Halwa often and whenever she makes some, she would drive all the way to give it to me. Lucky me!!! I get to eat this delicious Carrot Halwa very often. When I make at home, I feel the only tedious part is grating carrots. Once you are done with grating carrots, I think you are almost done with half of the preparation. Beetroot Halwa preparation is also similar to Carrot Halwa. My mom makes Beetroot Halwa often. Last year when she came for Sanvi’s First Bday, she made a big bowl full of Beetroot Halwa. My father and Gj did not eat as they considered it to be very high calorie food. My mom and I finished it off quickly. Such is our love for both Carrot Halwa and Beetroot Halwa. I like both of them equally. I do not make it often at home as Gj is not very fond of sweets. I am quite lazy to make a sweet for myself. Hopefully, my daughters should give me good company in future. Lets move on to the Carrot Halwa Recipe…

Gajar Ka Halwa

Preparation Time. 15 minutes
Cook Time. 25 minutes
Serves. 3 persons
Shelf Life. 2 days in refrigerator, 2 months in freezer
Recipe Cuisine. Indian
Recipe Category. Sweets

Gajar Ka Halwa

Ingredients

Carrots  – 6 medium-sized nos.
Sugar – 1 cup
Milk – 1 cup
Ghee – 4 tablespoons
Cardamom powder – 1/2 teaspoon
Chopped cashew nuts – 10 nos.

Note. The ingredients shown will vary with the original quantity.

Preparation

1. Wash the carrots and trim their edges. Scrape the skin for all the carrots. Use the small blade in the grater/mandoline to grate all the carrots.

Gajar Ka Halwa

2. In the same pan, add grated carrots and sauté well. Keep stirring continuously until carrots shrink in size, turn pale and smell sweet. The raw smell of carrots should go off completely. If not, your carrot halwa will taste raw.

Gajar Ka Halwa

3. Now add milk (carrots should be submerged in the milk) and let the carrots boil in milk for sometime.

Gajar Ka Halwa

4. When the carrots have boiled and absorbed by the milk well, add sugar. Stir well. The mixture will liquefy and then again start thickening. Boil for some more time until the mixture thickens and leaves Ghee on all sides.

Gajar Ka Halwa

5. Meantime, fry the cashew nuts in a teaspoon of ghee until golden brown. When the mixture becomes like a thick mass, add the fried cashew nuts and stir once for the last time.

Gajar Ka Halwa

Now, Carrot Hawa is ready!

Gajar Ka Halwa
Serve. Warm or cold or even with a scoop of vanilla icecream.
You can also pour the carrot halwa in a greased plate and later cut them into squares when they cool down. Garnish with fried cashews or silver warq.

Gajar Ka Halwa

Notes.

  • You can add khoya or 1 tablespoon of paneer along with sugar to the carrot halwa. Khoya will give richer taste.
  • You can also add pistachios or almonds instead of cashew nuts.
  • Grating the carrot takes some time. To reduce the time, you can use food processor instead.
  • Adjust the sugar quantity according to your taste.
  • Saute the grated carrots well before adding the milk. The raw taste of the carrot should completely go off if not the halwa will taste raw.
  • You can also add raisins along with cashew nuts.
  • You can also decorate with silver warq.
  • You can also add a pinch of edible camphor.

Gajar Ka Halwa

Leave a Reply

