Ginger Thogayal | Inji Thogayal | Ginger Chutney

Inji Thogayal/Inji Thuvaiyal

Two years ago, I went to my friend’s house for a vacation and stayed there for a week or so. For lunch, she asked me hesitatingly if I would eat Ginger Thogayal. I asked her, “what…thogayal with ginger? How would it taste da? Sour?????” She smiled at me and said give it a try.

I did not want to disappoint my friend because I am sure she knew my taste bud and would always give me the best. So why not I try it? I put just 1/4 cup of boiled rice on my plate and tried the Inji Thogayal. I tried eating the Ginger Thogayal along with chips. The word I uttered immediately after tasting the thogayal was “Yummy, how did you make it da?” . It was that good but you have to make the recipe with correct proportion of ingredients. Ginger Thogayal should have a perfect blend of ingredients. I know many people do not like Ginger Chutney, but I would say it’s worth trying. Ginger has got lot of medicinal qualities, so it is good to eat Ginger this way atleast once a week or so. It tastes delicious with rice, dosa and idly.

Ginger Health Benefits (www.lifehack.org)

Maintains normal blood circulation
Remedies Motion Sickness
Improves absorption
Cold and Flu Prevention
Combats Stomach Discomfort and morning sickness
Colon Cancer Prevention
Reduce Pain and Inflammation
Ovarian Cancer Treatment
Strengthens Immunity

Inji Thogayal/Inji Thuvaiyal
Preparation Time. 5 minutes
Cook Time. 15 minutes
Recipe Category. Side dish
Recipe Cuisine. Indian
Recipe Adaptated. Ms. Uma Devarajan
Shelf Life. 4 days
Serves. 4

Inji Thogayal/Inji Thuvaiyal

Ingredients

Ginger – 100 gm (washed, peeled and cut into pieces)
Turmeric Powder – 1/2 teaspoon
Tamarind – small lemon size
Jaggery – small gooseberry
Mustard Seeds – 1/4 teaspoon
Green Chillies – 4 nos.
Water – as required
Salt – as desired
Oil – 3 tablespoons

Note. The ingredients shown will vary with the original quantity.

Preparation

1. Grind ginger pieces, green chillies, turmeric powder, jaggery, and salt smoothly using 2 tablespoons of water. If you want, you could add little more water.

Inji Thogayal/Inji Thuvaiyal

2. Heat 2 tablespoon of oil and splutter mustard seeds. Now add the ginger paste and boil it well.

Inji Thogayal/Inji Thuvaiyal

3. Keep stirring the ginger paste and add one more tablespoon of oil and stir well. The ginger paste should leave oil on its sides, and the raw smell of ginger should go away completely. This is the right consistency. Switch off the stove.

Inji Thogayal/Inji Thuvaiyal
Now Ginger Chutney/Ginger Thogayal is ready!

Serve.

Curd Rice, Boiled Rice, Dosa and Idly.

Inji Thogayal/Inji Thuvaiyal

Note.

  • You could soak tamarind in 1/2 cup of water for 20 minutes and then add the tamarind paste and grind it along with other ingredients.
Leave a Reply

