Goreng Pisang | Indonesian/Malaysian Banana Fritters

Goreng Pisang

Preparation Time. 7 minutes
Cook Time. 10 minutes
Serves. 4
Recipe Cuisine. Indonesian/Malaysian
Recipe Category. Snack

Goreng Pisang

I love this Goreng Pisang so much and my mom makes it often. When it comes to food, I used to be very fussy during my childhood days. I would eat very few dishes, and this dish is one among them. My mom makes it for me when she feels that she had to appreciate me for something I did or when it rains heavily in Pondicherry. Nowadays, I have it along with a cup of masala tea. Goreng Pisang brings nostalgic memories to my mom who had settled down in India. She often tells me that her mom, my grandmother, makes it often for her when my mom comes home from school. All my uncles and aunts used to chat and eat Goreng Pisang together it seems. My mom said that many small scale restaurants have this in their menu card in Johor Bahru. My mom and myself just adore this dish so much. Who is going to join us very soon?

Ingredients

Ripe bananas – 4 nos. (peeled and cut into halves)
All purpose flour (maida) – 4 tablespoon
Rice flour (arisi mavu) – 3 tablespoon
Sugar – 1/2 cup
Baking powder – 1/2 teaspoon
Saffron color – a pinch (optional)
Water – just enough to make the batter
Salt – a pinch
Oil – for deep-frying

Goreng Pisang

Goreng Pisang

Note. The ingredients shown will vary with the original quantity.

Preparation

1. In a large mixing bowl, combine all the ingredients except bananas and water. Now add water little by little and make a smooth and lump-free batter. Stir well so that the sugar blends well.

Goreng Pisang

2. The consistency of the batter should be quite thick as shown in the pictures below.

Goreng Pisang

3. Heat oil for deep frying the bananas. Dip the banana pieces into the batter till evenly coated and deep-fry it in batches of 5 to 6.

Goreng Pisang

4. Fry the bananas until golden brown on all sides and drain on paper towels.

Goreng Pisang

Now, Goreng Pisang is ready!

Serve. You can eat it as such or with Vanilla Icecream. Serve immediately.

Goreng Pisang

Notes.

  • Bananas should be ripe but not too soft.
  • You can also sprinkle powdered sugar on top.

Goreng Pisang

 

Leave a Reply

