Mango Pachadi Recipe | Maangai Pachadi (With Sugar) | Tamil New Year Recipes

Mango Pachadi Recipe

When I buy Mangoes, the first thing I would do is to make this Mango Pachadi. My hubby loves it too. Sometimes, I make using jaggery, and if I do not have jaggery at home, I make using sugar. Yes, while making this recipe I did not have jaggery so I made using sugar.The pachadi with jaggery will be little dark in color.  I will post the jaggery version soon.

I still have one mango left in the refrigerator. I eat this with Sambar, Rasam, Mor Kuzhambu and sometimes even with Curd Rice. I usually like to eat it with sambar. During the season of mangoes, I prefer to eat this dish rather than drinking mango juice.

 

Preparation Time. Under 10 minutes
Cook Time. Under 15 minutes
Serves. 4
Recipe Category. Lunch
Recipe Cuisine. Indian


Ingredients

Raw mango – 2 cups
Chopped onion – 1/2 cup
Grated ginger – 1/2 teaspoon
Grated coconut – 1/4 cup
Sugar – 1/4 cup (add more if desired)
Turmeric powder – 1/2 teaspoon
Chilly powder – 1 teaspoon

To Season
Mustard seeds (kadugu) – 1/2 teaspoon
Red chillies – 2 to 3 nos. (Add more if required)

Note. The ingredients shown will vary with the original quantity.

Preparation

1. Heat oil in a pan. Add the mustard seeds and let it splutter. Then add red chillies, chopped onion and grated ginger. Fry onions till it turns light brown.

2. Then add mango pieces. Cook the mango pieces until tender, and then add 1/2 cup of sugar and little water. Boil well. Now add grated coconut and boil for two minutes.

3. Then add chilli powder and turmeric powder. Boil till the raw smell goes off. Then mash it well with a ladle. Boil for two more minutes.

Now, Manga Pachadi is ready! Serve as an accompaniment to rice.

You can serve this dish with the following dishes:

Cucumber Mor KuzhambuVendekka Sadham/Lady’s Finger Rice/Bhindi RiceOats Curd RiceBisi Bele BathCucumber KootuSpring Onion Moong DalApple RasamPineapple RasamPoondu Rasam (Garlic Rasam)Capsicum Sambar

Leave a Reply

