Mint Yoghurt Raita | Mint Yoghurt Dip | Mint Raita

Mint Yoghurt Dip
I had Mint Yoghurt Raita for the first time in a Non-Veg Potluck few years ago. My share was Tandoori Chicken. Another friend of mine brought this yummy Mint Yoghurt Raita. Actually she did’nt have to bring it, still she brought it for everywhere.

I was only wondering with what dish it would go well because it was just a snack potluck. There were no rice items. When I served Tandoori Chicken to everyone, my friend served this dip. I tasted the dip along with Tandoori Chicken, it was heavenly. We all thanked her for bringing this extra yummy dip. I asked her for the recipe, and she explained it to me in detail. She said I could do it with both mint and coriander leaves. Also this dip goes well with Chilli Chicken, Chicken 65, Pepper Chicken etc. I was doing my Masters at that time and did not have time to try out recipes. I saw the same Mint Dip in an Indian grocery store and bought it. I made the dip using the store bought mint dip but the taste was not even close to what we make at home. When my parents had come here few months back, I made this Raita and they loved it so much. I always wanted to share this recipe in my blog and now here it is…

Mint Yoghurt Dip

 

Preparation Time. 5 minutes
Recipe Cuisine. Indian
Recipe Category. Dip
Yield. 1 cup

Ingredients

Mint Leaves – 2 cups
Curd/Yoghurt – 1 cup
Green Chillies – 2 nos. (increase more if you want it to be more spicy)
Cumin Powder – 1/4 teaspoon
Salt – as required

Note. The ingredients shown will vary with the original quantity.

Preparation

Wash the mint leaves. Use only the leaves and discard the stem. In a blender, add curd, green chillies, mint leaves, cumin powder and salt. Blend until smooth. Garnish with a pinch of cumin powder.

Mint Yoghurt Dip

Now Mint Yoghurt Raita is ready!

You can serve this Mint Yoghurt Raita with the following recipes:

Vegetarian:
French Biryani, Asparagus And Peas Pulao, Jeera Pulao, Hara Bhara Kabab, Vegetable Crumbs,  

Non-Vegetarian:
Egg Paniyaram, Kodiveri Fish Fry, Simple Fish Fry (Meen Varuval), Pepper Chicken, Pottukadalai Chicken,

Mint Yoghurt Dip

Notes

  • You can use chaat masala powder instead of cumin powder.
  • You can also use coriander leaves instead of mint leaves.
  • You can also use a combination of both coriander and mint leaves.

Mint Yoghurt Dip

Leave a Reply

