Mohan Dhal

Gujarati Besan Flour Sweet

Mohan Dhal

Satisfying if not mind-blowing!
Mohan Dhal is a Gujarati Sweet. Initially, I learned the Mohan Dhal recipe from a tamil tv channel. I wanted to try it out but did not have time at all. After few days, I wanted to make some sweet for one of our close friend’s babyshower(Seemantham). On the day before the babyshower, at midnight 1am (didn’t find time at all to make it during the day time), I made this sweet. I asked my husband to taste it. He liked it and appreciated me. I would rate my sweet say 80/100. I was not completely satisfied but then I thought it was okay. I decorated the sweet well and gave the sweet along with a greeting card, gift card, and some fruits. Some of the friends who had come for the babyshower appreciated me for the presentation part. I felt very happy that day. I kept the remaining sweets in the refrigerator.
 
After two days, my husband asked me for the sweet. When I gave him the sweet, he immediately starred at me and said this was the worst sweet he had ever had in his life. Immediately, I tasted it and did not like it at all. I was not even able to swallow the sweet. I felt so bad and disturbed. I was pondering how could I ever make a sweet like this and give it for a baby shower…I felt so bad on my part. Now, nothing can be done. All I can do now are only two things: make another sweet for the same friend and apologize and learn from my mistake. So, what did I learn? Never blindly follow a recipe at the last minute how much ever nice it looks.
 
After few days, I tried making the same recipe with few changes to the original recipe and vahrevah….it came out well. If you ask me if I had given the sweet to my friend, no…no…no way…… I should make another sweet for her. I do not want to frighten her by giving the same sweet. Though the recipe ingredients and method had been changed, the sweet’s appearance remains the same.
 
So, now you can make this recipe and let me know your experience!
Ingredients

Besan Flour (kadalai mavu) – 3 Cups

Vennila Essence – Few Drops

Condensed Milk – 500gm

Sugar – 4 Tablespoons

Milk – 3 Tablespoons

Chopped Cashews – 1 Tablespoon

Chopped Almonds (Badam) – 1 Tablespoons

Saffron – Few Strands (Optional)

Ghee – 2 Tablespoons

Preparation

1. Warm 1 tablespoon of Ghee in a nonstick pan. Fry besan flour until you get good smell. Remove besan flour and transfer it to a mixing bowl.

2. Now, when the besan flour is warm enough, add milk and stir well. Then, add desired quantity of water in such a way that the besan milk mixture becomes a thick paste.

3. In the same nonstick pan, add 1 tablespoon of remaining Ghee. Fry cashews and Almonds (Badam) till they become golden brown. Transfer them to a bowl.

If you want to use only peeled almonds, you may refer “How to Peel Almonds?”

4. Now, add the besan milk mixture to the pan and fry well. Slowly, add the condensed milk,  sugar, and vennila essence and again fry well until the raw smell of the besan mixture goes off and also until there are no lumps. Put saffron strands on top. Switch off the stove.

5. Apply Ghee on the bottom of the desired plate. Using a spoon, put the Mohan Dhal sweet on the plate and press well. Put some fried cashews and Almonds (Badam) on the sweet and gently press them. Allow the sweet to cool and then cut the sweet into desired shapes.

Now, the Mohan Dhal sweet is ready!

Note.

Store it in an airtight container and refrigerate for 2 weeks.

I am sending this recipe to

 http://cooksjoy.com/

Leave a Reply

