Ring Murukku Recipe | Diwali Sweet Snacks | Chegodilu Recipe

Ring Murukku

Ring Murukku is my all-time favorite murukku. My father used to buy this murukku for me during my childhood days. I used to wear it as ring and eat it playfully. This was the first murukku I made in my life. I made it for my Thala Diwali.

Those days, I didn’t know much about cooking and wanted to try out an easy murukku for my Thalai Diwali. Gj loves murukku, and he likes my mother-in-law’s murukku so much. My mother-in-law makes murukku so well. I tried Ring Murukku for the first time and trust me, It came out well. It is kind of time consuming, but it is not hard at all. When my mom came to help me for my second pregnancy, I had plenty of time in the kitchen. My mom helped me a lot in everyday cooking. I thought I should make Ring Murukku for all the murukku lovers in my family: Gj, mom, and Sanvi. I made a small batch and my family loved it. I used Homemade Rice Flour to make this Ring Murukku. I feel Homemade Rice Flour tastes great that the store Hope you also like it.

Preparation Time. 10 minutes
Cook Time. 25 minutes
Recipe Cuisine. Indian
Recipe Category. Sanck
Serves. 4

Ingredients

Homemade Rice Flour – 1 cup
Split yellow moong dal – 1.5 tablespoon
Water – 1 cup
Cumin seeds – 1 teaspoon
Sesame seeds – 1 teaspoon
Chili powder – 1 teaspoon
Butter – 1 tablespoon
Asafoetida – 1/4 teaspoon
Salt – as required
Oil – for deep frying 

Refer Homemade Rice Flour for stepwise preparation of Rice Flour.

Note. The ingredients shown will vary with the original quantity.

Preparation

1. Soak moong dal in water for at least 15 to 30 minutes. In a wide-bottomed pan, boil water and add salt, ghee, and moong dal. When the water starts boiling, simmer the flame and add Homemade Rice Flour little by little.

2. Once the dough combines well, switch off the flame. The dough should be thick enough like murukku dough. Keep the dough covered and let it cool down completely. Once it has completely cooled down, add the chilli powder, cumin seeds, sesame seeds, and asafetida. Knead the dough well.

3. Pinch a small portion of dough say gooseberry-sized (see the step 4, first picture), and then roll it into 2 inch strip. The strip should be quite uniform in size. Then bring both the ends of the rope together and then join the ends. If you find difficulty in rolling them, just apply few drops of oil in your palms and then roll them.

4. Once you have shaped all the balls into rings, heat the oil and then deep fry them.

5. Deep fry the rings until golden brown and crispy. Drain them in tissue paper to remove excess oil.

Now, Ring Murukku is ready! Store it in an airtight container.

You may also want to try other Murukku recipes:
Ribbon Pakoda, Seepu Murukku, Thattai, Uppu Seedai, Vella Seedai    

Notes

  • Make sure you roll the strips uniformly.
  • Homemade Rice Flour is best for this murukku both in texture as well as taste.
  • You can also sieve 1 tablespoon of urad dal flour and add it to the rice flour.
  • While you roll the dough into strips, keep the remaining dough covered with wet cloth.
  • Always keep the flame in high first and then turn to medium for a even crispy murukkus.
  • If you cannot form ring shape properly, add a spoon of oil to the dough and then knead again. Now try to form the ring shape again.
  • If your oil is not hot, Ring Murukku will absorb lot of oil and will not get cooked properly.

Leave a Reply

