Vendakkai Poriyal | Ladies Finger Stir Fry | Bhindi Stir Fry

Vendakkai Poriyal

The one vegetable that makes me sigh when I open my lunchbox in school days is Ladies Finger (Vendakkai). I did not like it at all. Though my mom repeatedly tells me how it is good for health, I never opened my ears for her. I would still eat it just for her. Slowly my taste started to change after my marriage that’s because we make Ladies Finger very often at home. My MIL makes it very often and she makes sure that we do not waste anything that is on the plate. No other go… I would eat it with Curd Rice. I like Ladies Finger and Curd Rice combination a lot. Gj loves Ladies Finger a lot. It may be Ladies Finger Sambar or Poriyal…he loves it. He buys it at least once a week. I should admit that I didn’t know to cook Ladies Finger the correct way (i.e) without stickiness for a long time. Four years back, we went to Canada for a visit and stayed with at our close friend’s house. My friend made Ladies Finger fry, and I was helping her. When she asked me to cut Ladies Finger, I started cutting it right away. She stopped me immediately and said I have to dry them well first using tissue paper. I learned this recipe from her and whenever I make this recipe, I will think of my close friend at least for a minute. Here we go to the recipe…

Vendakkai Poriyal

Preparation Time: 10 minutes
Cooking Time: 15 minutes
Recipe Category: Accompaniment to Rice
Recipe Cuisine: Indian
Serves: 2

Ingredients

Ladies Finger – 12 nos.
Onion – 1/4 cup
Turmeric powder – 1/4 teaspoon
Sambar powder – 1/2 teaspoon
Curry leaves – 1 sprig
Salt – as desired

To Season

Mustard seeds – 1/2 teaspoon
Urad dal – 1/2 teaspoon
Sesame oil – 2 teaspoon

Note. The ingredients shown will vary with the original quantity.

Preparation

1. Wash ladies finger and wipe it dry. Cut the head, and chop them into thin circles. Heat oil in a pan, add mustard seeds and wait till it splutters. Add urad dal and when it turns light brown, add chopped onion. Fry until it turns transparent.

Vendakkai Poriyal

2. Add ladies finger and fry until the ladies finger turns transparent and becomes less sticky. Add more oil if required. Do not close the pan with lid. Then add turmeric powder, sambar powder, salt and curry leaves. Stir well, cook for some time till the Ladies Finger shrinks in volume, and then transfer it to a bowl.

Vendakkai Poriyal

Now Ladies Finger Stir Fry is ready!

Serve Ladies Finger Stir Fry along with the following:
Cauliflower and Carrot Kootu, Cucumber Kootu, Dal Tadka, Paruppu Thuvaiyal, Spring Onion Moong Dal, Cucumber Moru Kootu, Poosanikai Mor Kuzhambu, Murungakai Poricha Kuzhambu, Paruppu Rasam, Pineapple Rasam, Poondu Rasam, Capsicum Sambar, Basil Rice (Thulasi Sadam), Cucumber Rice, Kovakkai|Tindora Rice, Oats Curd Rice, Olive Rice, Peanut Rice
Vendakkai Poriyal

Notes

1. Wash ladies finger, and wipe it well with a tissue paper. Even if it is little wet, ladies finger will be sticky and gooey.
2. While frying the ladies finger, if it is very sticky then add more oil.
3. Never close the pan with lid while cooking the Ladies Finger.
4. I prefer to use a non-stick pan as it will be easier to fry the ladies finger and also consumes less oil.

Leave a Reply

